Film Artist Blogathon

In this blogathon I spotlight my favorite film artists. In cases where the director has many films (usually 20 or more), I provide a “top” list which ranks the best. In cases where there are few (usually 10 or less), I do a “full” list which ranks them all from best to worst. My rankings do not kow-tow to critical consensus or wide opinion; this exercise is narcissistic to the core.

I encourage other bloggers to write up their own lists, and I already know one sharp cinephile waiting in the wings: Carson Lund, who drops in occasionally, and whose critical acumen always inspires.

Alfred Hitchcock. The Top 10 (out of 53).

David Lynch. The Full 10.

Ingmar Bergman. The Top 18 (out of 45).

Stanley Kubrick. The Full 10.

William Friedkin. The Top 10 (out of 20).

Terrence Malick. The Full 5.

Quentin Tarantino. The Full 8.

Martin Scorsese. The Top 10 (out of 24).

UPDATE: See what Jake Cole has in store.

2 thoughts on “Film Artist Blogathon

  1. Great idea. I found out about this from Carson. I think I'll do this myself, though I don't know all the directors I'd choose. I should have at least a list for the first few months at my site later today.

Leave a Reply

